Voice and Volubility


Kathy Sharp

It is a truth universally acknowledged that when two or more writers are placed in a confined space the volume of chatter will threaten to blow the roof off. I suppose it’s the solitary and silent nature of most writing that makes us all so voluble when we meet.

It was certainly the case at the Dorset Writers Network Writers’ Open House at Dorchester last weekend, where I had volunteered to help answer visitors’ questions. And what a range of questions! How can I publish my poetry? What do I say when I’m asked to critique other people’s work at my writing group? How do I pitch my non-fiction book to a publisher? How do I tighten up the dialogue in my TV script? On and on it went –they all certainly found their voices, and I was hoarse when I got home. Many of the questions were tough to…

View original post 349 more words

About kathysharp2013

Kathy Sharp lives by the sea in Dorset. She is a prolific writer of song lyrics and short fiction, and is the author of the Larus Trilogy of novels, inspired by the dramatic scenery of the Jurassic Coast. Published by Crooked Cat Publishing
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

