Treacle, and other Twisted Tales


Here’s a chance to read an excerpt from mybook.to/treacle which is only 99p/99c in the Crooked Cat sale.

The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet

Treacle paperback spread

Here’s a snippet from my story ‘Maryika’s Christmas’, one of the 35 tales (some short, some long) in my short story collection, mybook.to/treacle . In the Crooked Cat sale, 28-30 August, the book is only 99p/99c. That’s less than 3p per story. All my novels are also in the sale.

The night wind was cool off the water and Zander shivered, drawing his thin cardigan around his shoulders. Zoe crouched at his feet, feeding the baby. Hana was a tiny child, hardly strong enough to bear the weight of such a portentous name. Hope. The flower of their happiness, if they could only escape. The foundation stone of their new life, or so he told himself, straightening his spine and squaring his shoulders as befitted the head of a household. Father had given the last of his money to the traffickers, staying behind to face his own likely death at…

View original post 684 more words

About yvonnemarjot

I was born in Britain, grew up in New Zealand, and now live on an island on the west coast of Scotland. I fit my writing addiction around my teenage sons and a day job with the local Council. I will continue to write even if no-one reads my work, because it’s often the only thing that keeps me sane. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t write poems and make up stories, and I once won a case of port in a poetry competition (NZ Listener, May 1996). In December 2012 I won the Britwriters Adult Poetry prize, and my first poetry collection, The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet, was published by Indigo Dreams. My novels, The Calgary Chessman, The Book of Lismore, and Walking on Wild Air are published by Crooked Cat.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

