Taming the Tango Champion


The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet

What is it about the tango?

That’s a rhetorical question, by the way. As any of you who know anything about tango already know, it’s all about sultry chords, throbbing rhythms, latin passion, and highly suggestive movements which are (barely) held in check, the male half of the tango pair being, of course, a perfect gentleman, maintaining an air of manly restraint no matter how much the lady (or so it is implied) wishes he would come in close and possess her, right there on the dance floor.

Oof. Sorry, just needed a moment to catch my breath.

Anyway, you don’t need me to tell you anything. There are any number of great renditions online, both from professional dancers and in films. Here’s one of my favourites, starring one of the screen’s great hotties – Antonio Banderas. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lAKlYTQVKY And if you really want an insight into just how sexy tango…

View original post 346 more words

About yvonnemarjot

I was born in Britain, grew up in New Zealand, and now live on an island on the west coast of Scotland. I fit my writing addiction around my teenage sons and a day job with the local Council. I will continue to write even if no-one reads my work, because it’s often the only thing that keeps me sane. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t write poems and make up stories, and I once won a case of port in a poetry competition (NZ Listener, May 1996). In December 2012 I won the Britwriters Adult Poetry prize, and my first poetry collection, The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet, was published by Indigo Dreams. My novels, The Calgary Chessman, The Book of Lismore, and Walking on Wild Air are published by Crooked Cat.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

