Women in Traditional Corsican Society


The role of women in Corsican society is an important issue in The House at Zaronza and also in my latest WIP, a prequel set in 18th-century Corsica.

Vanessa Couchman

Corsican woman of a certain age. Corsican woman of a certain age

Oppressed, subservient, insignificant? Does that accurately describe Corsican women in past times? Not always. That Corsica was a patriarchal society can’t be denied. But to portray the island’s women as downtrodden and overlooked is to over-simplify a complex situation.

A few weeks ago, I wrote about marriage customs. This time, I look specifically at the role of women, an important topic for my current work in progress. My research has turned up some interesting contradictions.

View original post 729 more words

About nessafrance

My husband and I moved to an 18th-century farmhouse in SW France in 1997. I am fascinated by French history, rural traditions and customs and enjoy seeking out the reality behind the myths. I run my own copywriting business and write short stories and the occasional novel in my spare time. My husband appears here as the SF, which stands for Statistics Freak, owing to his penchant for recording numbers about everything.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

