#atinylife Swimming


Today’s tinylife is about swimming (ugh).

Stella Hervey Birrell

Today I have been thinking about … swimming.

Euch, swimming. A necessary evil in the holidays, outstripped only by requests for Minecraft, or for me to finally relent and download Pokemon Go.

‘But swimming, really?’ I ask. ‘It’s such a lovely day.’

I am informed that lovely days don’t have flumes in them. Not yet. So off we go. I stand out of the IMG_9009water, wearing less than I would ever voluntarily clothe myself in. My teeth chatter in time with the anxiety ringing in my ears as they whoosh down the flumes. Then another ten minutes of queuing. Fun, right?

The worry lessens after the third go. I find some tinyspace and float peacefully. The heavy weightlessness buoys me up and away to a pleasant dreamland.

I love the post-swim clean feeling too. (I know, I know, it’s just chlorine.)

View original post

About atinylife140

This is the website and blog of tinylifer Stella Hervey Birrell. I'm a writer living in East Lothian, Scotland. My first novel, How Many Wrongs make a Mr Right? was published in 2016. I wanted to start a blog that wouldn’t encroach much into anyone’s day, with a nod to Twitter’s use of brevity as a USP (I use 140 words per post, they insist on 140 characters per post). In the blog, I want to mostly focus on the little things, the ones that lift us, keep us going on the difficult days. The visuals will also be deliberately simple: a post-it note with an illustration in pencil (Stella HB, you see?). Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

