#atinylife Fever


Some thoughts on our NHS and how lucky I am.

Stella Hervey Birrell

‘38.4,’ my husband said. ‘Or three degrees higher than mine.’ We don’t really trust  the thermometers in our house. ‘Should I cancel the babysitter?’

I was still on the train, a thread spooling back towards my family, normality.

At the doctor, half four the next day, it was 38.6. Then she found a non-blanching spot. ‘Just to be sure,’ she said. ‘I’m comforted that he’s alert.’ Plans were broken up and hastily remade into a different jigsaw.

The Royal Hospital for Sick Children is a twenty minute drive from my house. We arrived at half five. By six, we’d been seen, by seven examined thoroughly, bloods by half eight, discharged by half nine.

Today, I’m grateful for so much. FullSizeRender (13)

For the friend who looked after my eldest with ten minutes notice.

For the NHS.

For our good health.

For my boys.

View original post

About atinylife140

This is the website and blog of tinylifer Stella Hervey Birrell. I'm a writer living in East Lothian, Scotland. My first novel, How Many Wrongs make a Mr Right? was published in 2016. I wanted to start a blog that wouldn’t encroach much into anyone’s day, with a nod to Twitter’s use of brevity as a USP (I use 140 words per post, they insist on 140 characters per post). In the blog, I want to mostly focus on the little things, the ones that lift us, keep us going on the difficult days. The visuals will also be deliberately simple: a post-it note with an illustration in pencil (Stella HB, you see?). Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

