Places which Ended Up in my Novels


Jane Bwye

Welcome again to Cathie Dunn, whose novels are a delight to read, and as all good historical novels should, hers have a very special sense of place.

Cathie Dunn

First of all, thank you to Jane for hosting me today. I’m delighted to be here. It’s always a pleasure to re-visit places I’ve been to and loved – and which ended up in my novels.

Today, I’m going to chat about the inspiration for my first big writing project, Dark Deceit. As a writer of historical adventure, I have to combine the locations I choose with real events. Or vice versa!

Dark Deceit is set in mainly rural Gloucestershire and Normandy. The year is 1141, a time of uncertainty when two sides were claiming the English throne: the Empress Matilda, daughter of King Henry I and his designated heir (a woman no less!), and Stephen of Blois, her cousin and son of Henry’s sister Adela…

View original post 679 more words

About Stephanie Patterson

I'm a writer, editor and publisher. I have gained extensive experience in critiquing and editing manuscripts over the last ten years, with an independent publisher, and with a number of independent authors.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

