Welcome, Carol


Tim's Blog

Having recently blogged about research for historical fiction set in ancient Greece, today I welcome fellow Crooked Cat author Carol Maginn, who gives us insights into her own experience of researching a very different period and place, and offers her distinctive take on the pleasures and pitfalls of history.  Over to you, Carol …

It’s a real pleasure to be on Tim Taylor’s blog and in the company of an accomplished historical novelist, and Kirklees Writer in Residence. I’m going to try to add, very briefly, to his thoughts….

History, as I think he’ll agree, can be irresistible for a writer—partly because we know how it comes out, and partly because we don’t know how it was to be alive in the past, and can only guess. It’s a great combination.

Having spent time in the present in my first two novels, Ruin and Daniel Taylor, I found Victorian Liverpool had drawn me…

View original post 538 more words

About T E Taylor

I write historical and contemporary fiction - my novels Zeus of Ithome and Revolution Day are published by Crooked Cat. I also write poetry, academic non-fiction (philosophy) and the occasional short story. I like to play the guitar and walk up hills. Originally from north Staffordshire, I live in Meltham, West Yorkshire, UK with my wife Rosa.
This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

