Edinburgh International Book Festival 2014 update


For CCThis post is by Nancy Jardine.

On Saturday 23rd August, 2014, I made a day trip to Edinburgh from my home in Aberdeenshire. I always love visiting Edinburgh but this time I had an ulterior motive. I wanted to go to the Edinburgh International Book Festival for two reasons- 1. I’ve never been before 2. The Beltane Choice, Bk 1 of my Celtic Fervour Series, was on the Crooked Cat shelves in the Festival Bookstore.

When I got off the coach, I found the streets of the city thronging with people. Some were Saturday shoppers, some were local festival goers and others general tourists to the city. Wending my way to Charlotte Square Gardens was a pleasure. The day was mostly lovely (ie it didn’t rain too much) and the crowds were in happy mode.

Dscn5588The Book Festival tented accommodation was heaving with people queing to go to ticketed events. Others were picknicking on the interior grassy area and some were in the bookstore. I had expected a lot more people to be browsing the books, it being a book festival, but that wasn’t actually what was happening. Though the sales desks had small queues, there were many more browsers taking notes of books with pen and paper and some adding details to their phones. That would hopefully have transferred to sales, somewhere, since the bookshop was only selling print books and not ebooks.

Dscn5591I loved that the Book Festival was so busy on Saturday, though I’m led to believe it wasn’t so busy on the weekdays. There were, of course, many events happening in the city which were all competing for drawing in traffic since there were still festival shows ongoing – rivalry for attention is so fierce.

What was the highlight of my day?

Laurence and Steph Patteson kneeling below 20 Crooked Cat titles!

Laurence and Steph Patteson kneeling below 20 Crooked Cat titles!

That would have to be Laurence and Steph Patterson of Crooked Cat asking me to sign three of The Beltane Choice copies that graced the shelves. After I signed them (whoopee!), they were placed on the ‘Author Signed’ designated shelves. Wow! That was such an honour.

Steph as Cathie Dunn; Nancy Jardine; Emma Mooney; Carol Anne Hunter.

Steph as Cathie Dunn; Nancy Jardine; Emma Mooney; Carol Anne Hunter.

After a fabulous lunch with Steph, Laurence and other Crooked Cat authors, I nipped back for a short while to browse the Book Festival events. When it was time to leave to catch my coach back to Aberdeen I couldn’t resist looking at my signed copies on the ‘Author signed’ shelves. To my horror they weren’t where we’d placed them. I searched all around the area and could see no sign of them. Checking the time, I realised I couldn’t wait for the small queue to diminish in order to speak to someone at the till to verify that they’d been sold. My bus awaited me, so I’ll just have to wonder till Laurence gives us an update on who sold what.

It was a fantastic day out!

Buy HERE

Celtic Fervour Series

Celtic Fervour Series

About Nancy Jardine

I write historical novels, contemporary history/mysteries, saga, and time-travel novels for readers aged 10 and older.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

